Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Mid-Iowa Youth Beef Team Members Earn Scholarships

January 9, 2020
Northern-Sun Print
Mid-Iowa Youth Beef Team members earned scholarships in the 25th Annual Iowa Cattlemen’s Foundation Beef Extravaganza Contest held December 11, 2019 at the Hansen Agricultural Learning Center on the Iowa State University Campus. The Extravaganza contest tests high school junior and senior students at a collegiate sophomore level in ten respective areas regarding beef production. The Mid-Iowa Youth Beef Team was represented by the three teams. Conner and Layne Murty (GMG High School) – M&M Cattle Company, captured championship honors with a $3,000 team scholarship award sponsored by Farm Credit Services of America. Delaney Nichols (West Marshall High School) and Sydney Parizek (STC High School) – NP Cattle Company, were awarded a $2,250 team scholarship sponsored by Purina Feeds as the runner-up team. Frances Jackson (GMG High School) & Dylan Hosek (North Tama High School) - Dynamic Framework Farms, followed with third place honors and an $1,800 team scholarship sponsored by the Iowa Beef Breeds Council. Many of the students plan to attend Iowa universities that will match their Extravaganza scholarship award. Collectively, the teams earned top spots in six of the ten stations: •Marketing – M&M Cattle Company & Dynamic Framework Farms – tied •Seedstock / Merchandising – M&M Cattle Company •Job Interview/Resume – M&M Cattle Company & NP Cattle Company - tied •Reproduction- MIYBT – M&M Cattle Company & Dynamic Framework Farms – tied •Credit and Finance – Dynamic Framework Farms •Beef Management – NP Cattle Company The Mid-Iowa Youth Beef Team has a mission to educate team members and the public regarding beef production, serve as beef industry advocates, and perform community service. Students must be between the ages of 12 (by July 15, 2020) and 18 (or a high school senior). There are no dues. Contact the team adviser, Julie Gray @ 641-481-2134 for additional information.

Article Photos

Front Row: Delaney Nichols (West Marshall High School), Sydney Parizek (South Tama County High School), Frances Jackson (GMG High School)
Back Row: Conner Murty (GMG High School), Layne Murty (GMG High School), Dylan Hosek (North Tama High School)



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web