Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Lead Holds In Official Tally By John Speer CIP

June 14, 2018
Northern-Sun Print
Mindy Benson, Tama, maintained her lead and has won the Democrat nomination for Iowa House 72 in the June 5 Primary vote. Official results show Benson with 404 votes total from Tama, Marshall and Black Hawk counties and Dave Degner at 394 votes. Other official vote totals from the race showed Jocelyn George- 204 and John Anderson- 143. Benson achieved the 35 percent total votes required for the nomination reaching 35.28 percent. She will challenge incumbent Dean Fisher (R-Montour) in the November 6 General election. House District 72 includes all of Tama, primarily the southern and western portions of Marshall and the south east corner of Black Hawk counties. The race remained undecided until absentee ballots were counted and the official canvasses conducted by the boards of supervisors were complete on Tuesday, June 11. In totals over the unofficial count, in Tama County Benson added two votes and 13 votes in Marshall County. The Black Hawk total of 33 remained the same. Degner gained one vote in Tama County and picked up 11 votes in Marshall County. The Black Hawk County total of 33 votes also remained the same.

Article Photos



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web