Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS


December 2, 2016
Northern-Sun Print
The Gladbrook-Reinbeck Rebels finished the 16-17 Football Season as the first undefeated Football Team in Gladbrook-Reinbeck school history! The Rebels also went down in the State of Iowa record books as the first Class A Football Team to play in three consecutive Class A Championship games! Following the Rebels’ win of their SECOND State Football Championship in a row, our students and staff have been awarded a wealth of honors. Whether an individual athlete was recognized or not, every team member is a critical piece of our team’s success. If you cross paths with any of our fine athletes or football staff, please take a moment to congratulate them on their dedication and accomplishments! The following is a partial list of the recent recognitions and awards presented to Gladbrook-Reinbeck CSD: Iowa Bankers Association Student Athlete Achievement Scholarship Award: The IBA Student Athlete Achievement Scholarship Award was presented to Matthew Roeding (Sr.). You can watch Matt Roeding accept his award by clicking on this link: Matt Roeding IBA Award presentation. Class A Championship Game MVP recognition was given to Hunter Lott (Jr.). You can watch Hunter Lott’s post-game MVP interview by clicking on this link: Hunter Lott interview and you can watch the Iowa Sports Network Class A MVP highlight reel by clicking on this link: Casey’s MVP Player of the Class A Championship Final. Ed Thomas Coach of the Week: John Olson was selected as the Channel 2 Ed Thomas Coach of the Week on Thanksgiving Day. You can watch the video spot by clicking on this link: John Olson - Ed Thomas Coach of the Week. Iowa Newspaper Association 2016 All-State Football Team appointments: Thomas Mussig - Gladbrook-Reinbeck’s Thomas Mussig was named captain of Class A. Mussig led the Rebels to achieve their second straight championship. The Defensive MVP of District 5, finished fourth in Class A with 86.5 total tackles, including 47 solo stops and 79 assists, 15.5 tackles for loss, 1.5 quarterback sacks and two fumble recoveries. The 6-foot-3, 205 pound linebacker posted a season-best 12.5 tackles (6 solo, 13 assists) in the Rebels’ 20-19 championship victory over Bishop Garrigan, helping Gladbrook-Reinbeck (13-0) earn its first undefeated season in school history. Class A Honors for Gladbrook-Reinbeck FIRST TEAM: Jacob Walters (Sr.) - Lineman Hunter Lott (Jr.) - Quarterback Mason Skovgard (Jr.) - Lineman Thomas Mussig (Sr.) - Linebacker and TEAM CAPTAIN Erik Knaack (Sr.) - Utility THIRD TEAM: Walker Thede (Jr.) - Kicker Parker Bown (Sr.) - Linebacker Class A District 5 All-District Awards: Sr: Thomas Mussig District Defensive MVP Jr: Walker Thede District MVP Punter John Oson: District Coach of the Year 1st team; Sr: Matt Roeding WR-DB Sr: Parker Bown TB-LB Jr: Walker Thede WR-DB Jr: Hunter Lott QB-DB Sr: Erik Knaack WR-LB Sr: Thomas Mussig OL-LB Sr: Jacob Walters OL-DL 2nd team Jr: Mason Skovgard DE Jr: Matt Johannsen DB Jr: Gage Murty FB Jr: Rhett Barnes DE Sr: Jed Peterson C. Honorable Mention Sr: Alex Tscherter LB Jr: Josh Peterson TB Jr: Kyle Koppen G Sr: Joe Pepe DT. Golden Award (Inj) Sr: Tyler Pierce DE-WR Class A District 5 Academic All District: Matt Roeding, Walker Thede, Mason Skovgard, Hunter Lott, Erik Knaack, Alex Tscherter, Matt Johannsen, Slade Wager, Rhett Barnes, Thomas Mussig, Kyle Koppen, Jed Peterson, Jacob Walters, William Blakesley


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web